American Iris Society: Morgan-Wood Medal-SIB History by Clarence Mahan

This medal is restricted to Siberian (SIB) irises. It is named in honor of F. Cleveland Morgan (1882-1962) and Ira E. Wood (1903-1977).

F. Cleveland Morgan was a pioneer Canadian breeder of Siberian irises and a founding member of AIS. Some of his magnificent cultivars still enhance gardens around the globe. Three of his best-known irises are 'Caesar,' 'Caesar's Brother' and 'Tropic Night.' Educated in England and Switzerland, he was a director of the Henry Morgan Company and a patron of Canadian arts. Morgan's association with the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts spanned a period of forty-five years, including 8 years as president of that institution. The museum held a special exhibition in 1961 to display more than six hundred works of art that he had donated.

AIS instituted the Morgan Award for Siberian Irises, the predecessor or the Morgan-Wood Medal, in 1951. Ira E. Wood, who was known as Sandy to his friends, and his wife Betty were both scientists who worked for Bell Telephone Laboratories in New Jersey. They shared their iris hobby and were active in the activities of AIS and the Society for Siberian Irises. They often undertook iris society projects as a team and one of these was the production of the Handbook for the American Iris Society Members and Officers. The AIS awarded them both the Distinguished Service Medal in 1974. Wood hybridized Siberian irises, but he introduced only one cultivar 'Ong's Hat.' He also served as a director of AIS and as its second vice president.

Winners: The Morgan-Wood Medal Siberians SIB. The highest award in the American Iris Society reserved exclusively for Siberian Irises from 1986 to the present

2019 PAPRIKASH (Schafer/Sacks)

2018 MISS APPLE (Schafer/Sacks)

2017 JUDY, JUDY, JUDY (Hollingworth)

2016 GINGER TWIST (Schafer/Sacks)

2015 HUMORS OF WHISKEY (Schafer/Sacks)

2014 TREE OF SONGS (Schafer/Sacks)

2013 SWANS IN FLIGHT (Hollingworth)

2012 SO VAN GOGH (Schafer/Sacks)

2011 BANISH MISFORTUNE (Schafer/Sacks)

2010 HERE BE DRAGONS (Schafer/Sacks)

2009 RUFFLES AND FLOURISHES (Hollingworth)

2008 FOND KISS (Schafer/Sacks)

2007 Ships are Sailing (Schafer/Sacks)

2006 Riverdance (Schafer/Sacks)

2005 Where Eagles Dare (Helsley)

2004 Blueberry Fair (Hollingworth)

2003 Careless Sally (Schafer/Sacks)

2002 Lake Keuka (Borglum)

2001 Strawberry Fair (Hollingworth)

2000 Over in Gloryland (Hollingworth)

1999 Roaring Jelly (Schafer/Sacks)

1998 Frosted Cranberry (A.M. Miller)

1997 Coronation Anthem (Hollingworth)

1996 Shaker's Prayer Warner

1995 Aqua Whispers A.M. Miller

1994 Sultan's Ruby (Hollingworth)

1993 Jeweled Crown (Hollingworth)

1992 Lady Vanessa (Hollingworth)

1991 Mabel Coday (Helsley)

1990 King of Kings (Varner)

1989 Dance Ballerina Dance (Varner)

1988 Pink Haze (McGarvey)

1987 Steve Varner (Briscoe)

1986 Butter and Sugar (McEwen)

Winners: The Morgan Award Siberians SIB. The highest award reserved exclusively for Siberian Irises within the American Iris Society from 1952 through 1984.

1984 Pink Haze (McGarvey)

1983 Ann Dasch (Varner)

1982 Steve Varner (Briscoe)

1981 Butter and Sugar (McEwen)

1980 Ruffled Velvet (McEwen)

1979 Augury (McGarvey)

1978 Silver Edge (McEwen)

1977 Vi Luihn (DuBose)

1976 Orville Fay (McEwen)

1975 Halcyon Seas (McCord)

1974 Grand Junction (McCord)

1973 Swank (Hager)

1972 Ego (McGarvey)

1971 Super Ego (McGarvey)

- 1970 Dewful (McGarvey)
- 1969 Velvet Night (Edwards)
- 1968 Pirouette (Cassebeer)
- 1967 Blue Brilliant (Cassebeer)
- 1966 Cool Spring (Kellogg)
- 1965 Violet Flare (Cassebeer)
- 1964 Tealwood (Varner)
- 1963 Snowcrest (Gage)
- 1962 White Swirl (Cassebeer)
- 1954 Tropic Night (Morgan)
- 1953 Caesar's Brother (Morgan)
- 1952 Tycoon (Cleveland)
- 1952 Eric the Red (Whitney)