American Iris Society: Founders of SIGNA Medal-SPEC History: by Clarence Mahan

This medal is restricted to species irises (SPEC) and is named to honor the founding members of the Species Iris Group of North American (SIGNA).

The first issue of SIGNA, published in April 1968, lists forty charter members of the Species Iris Group of North America. The first organization meeting was held in May 1966. Roy Davidson was subsequently elected chairman of the new group and Betty Rowe was elected secretary/treasurer. Bruce Richardson became the first editor; Thomas J. Buckley was designated librarian; and Ruth Hardy agreed to take on duties as seed exchange director. One of the first acts of the new group was to publish the *Species Iris Study Manual*. The success of the organization in its formative years was to a considerable degree the result of the leadership skills of Roy Davidson and the editorial work of Bruce Richardson of Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.

Awards for species and inter species hybrid irises within the AIS awards system became a reality in 1994. As a result, SIGNA designed and cast "The Founders of SIGNA Medal" for species and the "Randolph-Perry Medal" for inter species hybrids. The medals were first presented in 2000 after the candidates had progressed through the AIS award system.

Winners: THE FOUNDERS OF SIGNA MEDAL-SPEC

2019 LAKESIDE GHOST (Chad Harris) 2018 WILDWOOD WILLIE (Michael Iler by Will Plotner) 2017 RUTH WILDER (Walter Hoover by Randell Bowen) 2016 DICK REDFIELD (Dick Redfield by Marty Schafer/Jan Sacks) 2015 JIN YU (Jill Copeland) 2014 CAITLIN'S SMILE (James Waddick by Kevin Morley) 2013 WOOLONG (James Waddick) 2012 Z Z ZANZIBAR (Brad Kasperek) 2011 SEAKRILL (Jill Copeland) 2010 RASPBERRY SLURP (Rita Butler) 2009 PETIT LION (Lowell Baumunk) 2008 KRILL (Jill Copeland) 2007 BAYOU BANDIT (Jeff Weeks by Farron Campbell) 2006 JOHN WOOD (John Wood by Everette Lineberger) 2005 POWDER BLUE GIANT (Sam Norris by Schafer/Sacks) 2004 CHINA WEST LAKE (James Waddick)

2003 MARVELL GOLD (James Waddick) 2002 CANDYSTRIPER (Bee Warburton) 2001 BETWEEN THE LINES Marty Schafer & Jan Sacks 2000 DOTTED LINE (L. Reid)