American Iris Society: Knowlton Medal-BB History written by Clarence Mahan

This medal is restricted to border bearded (BB) irises. It is named in honor of Harold W. Knowlton (1888-1968). Harold Knowlton of Auburndale, Massachusetts, was a tireless promoter of the border bearded class of irises. Bennett Jones wrote in The World of Irises: "Harold Knowlton was among the first to make deliberate selections of smaller plants. Two of his 1950 introductions, Pearl Cup ... and Cricket... display the desirable features we still seek in modern border irises."

Knowlton was the seventh president of the AIS (1953-55) and served the society in several important positions. He was highly regarded as a leader, planner and organizer and reorganized the AIS awards system and instituted the first Handbook for Judges and the handbook for new members *What Every Iris Grower Should Know*. He also compiled and edited the 1959 Check List. The AIS awarded him the Distinguished Service Medal in 1955.

Winners: KNOWLTON MEDAL Border Bearded (BB)

2019 MY CHER OF HAPPINESS ((Paul Black)) 2018 SHEER EXCITEMENT (Richard Tasco) 2017 BALLERINA PINK ((Paul Black)) 2016 MEERKAT MANOR (Brad Kasperek) 2015 NICHE (Joseph Ghio) 2014 LADY OF THE NIGHT ((Paul Black)) 2013 BUNDLE OF LOVE ((Paul Black)) 2012 CROW'S FEET ((Paul Black)) 2011 FLEECE AS WHITE ((Paul Black)) 2010 EYE CANDY Keith Keppel 2009 BORDER CONTROL Thomas Johnson 2008 TEAPOT TEMPEST Lynn Markham 2007 Go for Bold ((Paul Black)) 2006 Anaconda Love (Brad Kasperek) 2005 Christiana Baker (Fred Kerr) 2004 Orange Pop (Larry Lauer) 2003 Lemon Up (Tom Magee) 2002 Baboon Bottom (Brad Kasperek) 2001 Cranapple (Terry Aitken) 2000 Apricot Frosty (Dave Niswonger) 1999 Petite Ballet (Keith Keppel)

1998 Red Rooster (Jack Durrance) 1997 Sonja's Selah (Allan Ensminger) 1996 Lenora Pearl (Hooker Nichols) 1995 Calico Cat (Carol Lankow) 1994 Zinger (Steve Stevens) 1993 Zinc Pink (Allan Ensminger) 1992 Batik (Allan Ensminger) 1991 Shenanigan (Keith Keppel) 1990 Miss Nellie (Jimmy Burch) 1989 Peccadillo (Keith Keppel) 1988 Soft Spoken (Perry Dyer) 1987 Drum Solo (Hal Stahly) 1986 Pink Bubbles (Ben Hager) 1985 Gypsy Wings (Melba Hamblen) 1984 Marmalade Skies (Dave Niswonger) 1983 Am I Blue (Don Denney) 1982 Picayune (Keith Keppel) 1981 Whoop 'em Up (Dovie Brady) 1980 Brown Lasso (Gene Buckles by Dave Niswonger) 1979 Stepping Little (Harry Kuesel) 1978 Raspberry Sundae (Dave Niswonger) 1977 Embroidery (Keith Keppel) 1976 Molten Glass (Jim Marsh) 1975 Dresden Frills (Nate Rudolph) 1974 Junior Prom (Joe Ghio) 1973 Bride's Pearls (Alta Brown) 1972 Lace Valentine (Bee Warburton) 1971 Crystal Bay (Bennett Jones) 1970 Pebbles (Jim Tucker) 1969 Blue Miller (Tom Brown) 1968-M Frenchi (Bennett Jones) 1967-M Jungle Shadows (Henry Sass by Helen Graham) 1966-M Tulare (Melba Hamblen) 1965 Bayadere (Opal Brown) 1964-A Tulare (Melba Hamblen) 1963 Fairy Jewels (Melba Hamblen) 1962-A Jungle Shadows (Henry Sass Omaha by Helen Graham) 1961-A Frenchi (Bennett Jones) 1960 Yellow Dresden (Margaret Albright)

The Median Iris Society sponsors the annual awarding of four medals by AIS to medians in each of the recognized classifications: SDB, IB, MTB, and BB. Note that most classifications within the AIS Awards System began with Award of Merit (AM) equivalent Awards, later elevated to Medal status. At this transition, previous Award winners from a specified period of time re-competed for the higher Medal honors. Thus there are some duplicate entries. They are designated with an "A" beside the date on which they won the AM-equivalent, and an "M" on Medal status. "T" designates a tie. Any year omitted is a year in which no award was made.