American Iris Society: Morgan-Wood Medal-SIB

History: History by Clarence Mahan

This medal is restricted to Siberian (SIB) irises. It is named in honor of F. Cleveland Morgan (1882-1962) and Ira E. Wood (1903-1977).

F. Cleveland Morgan was a pioneer Canadian breeder of Siberian irises and a founding member of AIS. Some of his magnificent cultivars still enhance gardens around the globe. Three of his best known irises are 'Caezar,' 'Caezar's Brother' and 'Tropic Night.' Educated in England and Switzerland, he was a director of the Henry Morgan Company and a patron of Canadian arts. Morgan's association with the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts spanned a period of forty-five years, including 8 years as president of that institution. The museum held a special exhibition in 1961 to display more than six hundred works of art that he had donated.

AIS instituted the Morgan Award for Siberian Irises, the predecessor or the Morgan-Wood Medal, in 1951.

Ira E. Wood, who was known as Sandy to his friends, and his wife Betty were both scientists who worked for Bell Telephone Laboratories in New Jersey. They shared their iris hobby and were active in the activities of AIS and the Society for Siberian Irises. They often undertook iris society projects as a team and one of these was the production of the Handbook for the American Iris Society Members and Officers. The AIS awarded them both the Distinguished Service Medal in 1974.

Wood hybridized Siberian irises, but he introduced only one cultivar 'Ong's Hat.' He also served as a director of AIS and as its second vice president.

Winners: The Morgan Award Siberians SIB

The highest award reserved exclusively for Siberian Irises within the American Iris Society from 1952 through 1984.

- 1952 Tycoon Cleveland
- 1952 Eric the Red Whitney
- 1953 Caesar's Brother Morgan
- 1954 Tropic Night Morgan
- 1962 White Swirl Cassebeer
- 1963 Snowcrest Gage
- 1964 Tealwood Varner
- 1965 Violet Flare Cassebeer
- 1966 Cool Spring Kellogg
- 1967 Blue Brilliant Cassebeer
- 1968 Pirouette Cassebeer
- 1969 Velvet Night Edwards
- 1970 Dewful McGarvey
- 1971 Super Ego McGarvey
- 1972 Ego McGarvey
- 1973 Swank Hager
- 1974 Grand Junction McCord
- 1975 Halcyon Seas McCord
- 1976 Orville Fay McEwen
- 1977 Vi Luihn DuBose
- 1978 Silver Edge McEwen

- 1979 Augury McGarvey
- 1980 Ruffled Velvet McEwen
- 1981 Butter and Sugar McEwen
- 1982 Steve Varner Briscoe
- 1983 Ann Dasch Varner
- 1984 Pink Haze McGarvey

Winners: The Morgan-Wood Medal Siberians SIB

The highest award in the American Iris Society reserved exclusively for Siberian Irises from 1986 to the present

- 1986 Butter and Sugar (McEwen)
- 1987 Steve Varner (Briscoe)
- 1988 Pink Haze (McGarvev)
- 1989 Dance Ballerina Dance (Varner)
- 1990 King of Kings (Varner)
- 1991 Mabel Coday (Helsley)
- 1992 Lady Vanessa (Hollingworth)
- 1993 Jewelled Crown (Hollingworth)
- 1994 Sultan's Ruby (Hollingworth)
- 1995 Agua Whispers A.M. Miller
- 1996 Shaker's Prayer Warner
- 1997 Coronation Anthem (Hollingworth)
- 1998 Frosted Cranberry (A.M. Miller)
- 1999 Roaring Jelly (Schafer/Sacks)
- 2000 Over in Gloryland (Hollingworth)
- 2001 Strawberry Fair (Hollingworth)
- 2002 Lake Keuka (Borglum)
- 2003 Careless Sally (Schafer/Sacks)
- 2004 Blueberry Fair (Hollingworth)
- 2005 Where Eagles Dare (Helsley)
- 2006 Riverdance (Schafer/Sacks)
- 2007 Ships are Sailing (Schafer/Sacks)
- 2008 FOND KISS (Marty Schafer/Jan Sacks)
- 2009 RUFFLES AND FLOURISHES (Robert Hollingworth)
- 2010 HERE BE DRAGONS (Marty Schafer/Jan Sacks)
- 2011 BANISH MISFORTUNE (Marty Schafer/Jan Sacks)
- 2012 SO VAN GOGH (Marty Schafer/Jan Sacks)