## American Iris Society: Mary Swords DeBaillon Medal-LA

## **History:**

This medal is restricted to Louisiana (LA) irises. It is named in honor of Mary Swords DeBaillon (1888-1940).

Mary Swords DeBaillon was born in Opelousas, Louisiana, and she lived in Louisiana all her life. She and her husband, Dan DeBaillon, lived on a fifteen-acre tract 5 miles from Lafayette, Louisiana. She transformed the grounds of her home into a garden renowned for its exquisite beauty and its large collection of native Louisiana plants. She had been growing a few native irises when, in 1932, she visited Caroline Dorman's home, "Briarwood" and saw the large collection of different forms of Hexagonae irises blooming in the garden. Mary DeBaillon realized how varied these irises were and what lovely garden plants they were. She then set out to collect every form of Louisiana's native irises that she could find.

Mary DeBaillon amassed the largest collection of Louisiana irises in the world. She was tireless in promoting these irises as good garden plants and in encouraging any who would listen to grow them. She gained considerable fame as a naturalist and native plant collector. She encouraged collection of the indigenous iris species to save them as civilization encroached on the swamps and bayous. A year after her death the iris enthusiasts in Lafayette organized an iris society and named it the Mary Swords DeBaillon Iris Society. This society became the Louisiana Iris Society in 1948.

The highest award an LA could receive from 1948 until 1985 was the Mary Swords DeBaillon Award. During that period, SLI was an independent unit with no affiliation whatsoever with the American Iris Society (AIS). SLI became a Cooperating Organization of AIS in 1986.

After that date the AWARD was discontinued and replaced with the Mary Swords DeBallion MEDAL, the highest award exclusively for Louisiana Iris. The MEDAL is a part of the AIS award system. All AIS medalists, including the Debaillon medalist, are elegible for the Dykes Medal, the highest award presented by AIS.

## Winners: MARY SWORDS DEBALLION MEDAL Louisiana Iris (LA)

2012 GINNY'S CHOICE (Wayland Rudkin) 2011 RASPBERRY RILLA (Rilla Hickerson) 2010 NIGHT THUNDER (Richard Morgan) 2009 HENRY ROWLAN (M. D. Faith) 2008 GREAT WHITE HOPE (Dorman Haymon) 2007 MY FRIEND DICK (Richard Butler by M.D. Faith) 2006 PEACHES IN WINE (Heather Pryor) 2005 RED VELVET ELVIS (Kevin Vaughn) 2004 HOT AND SPICY (Heather Pryor) 2003 (No Award) 2002 EXTRAORDINAIRE - M. Dunn 2001 PRALINE FESTIVAL - Haymon 2000 CAJUN SUNRISE - Mertzweiller 1999 PROFESSOR NEIL - Mertzweiller 1998 BAYOU MYSTIQUE - M. Dunn 1997 VOODOO MAGIC - Rowlan 1996 PROFESSOR JIM - Mertzweiller 1995 KAY NELSON - Granger 1994 JERI - Bertinot

1993 FRANK CHOWNING - Rowlan 1992 BAJAZZO - M. Dunn 1991 RHETT - Dunn 1990 ACADIAN MISS - Arny 1989 BLACK GAMECOCK - Chowning 1988 EASTER TIDE - Arny 1987 CLARA GOULA - Arny 1986 ANN CHOWING - Chowning 1985 (No Award) 1984 MONUMENT - Dunn 1983 EASTER TIDE - Arny 1982 CLARA GOULA - Arny 1981 BRYCE LEIGH - Chowning 1980 ANN CHOWNING - Chowning 1979 THIS I LOVE - Chowning 1978 (No Award) - Tie between: F.A.C. McCULLA – Arny and SHRIMP CREOLE - Ghio 1977 MARY DUNN - Hager 1976 EOLIAN - Arny 1975 CHARLIE'S MICHELE - Arny 1974 CLYDE REDMOND - Arny 1973 MRS. IRA NELSON - Arny 1972 ILA NUNN - Arny 1971 DELTA KING - Hager 1970 MARIE CAILLET - Conger 1969 KATHERINE L. CORNAY - Arny 1968 BLACK WIDOW - MacMillan 1967 DIXIE DEB - Chowning 1966 G.W. HOLLEYMAN - R. Holleyman 1965 FRANCES ELIZABETH - Rix 1964 W.B. MacMILIAN - Conger 1963 NEW OFFERING - C. Davis 1962 DIXIE DUSK - Matthews 1961 LOUISE ARNY - Arny 1960 AMETHYST STAR - DuBose 1959 HER HIGHNESS - Livingston (Collected) 1958 WHEELHORSE - C. Dormon 1957 BLUE CHIP - S. Smith 1956 WOOD VIOLET - R. Dormon 1955 THE KAHN - C. Dormon 1954 SAUCY MINX - C. Dormon 1953 VIOLET RAY - C. Dormon 1952 ROYAL GEM - S. Smith 1951 CHERRY BOUNCE - Nelson 1950 CADDO - Trichel 1949 BAYOU SUNSET - MacMillan 1948 MARY S. DEBAILLION - C. Dormon (Collected)