History: History written by Clarence Mahan

This medal is restricted to border bearded (BB) irises. It is named in honor of Harold W. Knowlton (1888-1968).

Harold Knowlton of Auburndale, Massachusetts, was a tireless promoter of the border bearded class of irises. Bennett Jones wrote in The World of Irises: "Harold Knowlton was among the first to make deliberate selections of smaller plants. Two of his 1950 introductions, Pearl Cup ... and Cricket... display the desirable features we still seek in modern border irises."

Knowlton was the seventh president of the AIS (1953-55) and served the society in several important positions. He was highly regarded as a leader, planner and organizer and reorganized the AIS awards system and instituted the first Handbook for Judges and the handbook for new members; What Every Iris Grower Should Know. He also compiled and edited the 1959 Check List. The AIS awarded him the Distinguished Service Medal in 1955.

Winners: KNOWLTON MEDAL Border Bearded (BB)

2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997 1996 1995 1994 1993 1992 1991 1990 1989 1988 1989 1988 1987 1986 1985 1984 1985 1984 1983 1983	CROW'S FEET FLEECE AS WHITE EYE CANDY BORDER CONTROL TEAPOT TEMPEST Go for Bold Anaconda Love Christiana Baker Orange Pop Lemon Up Baboon Bottom Cranapple Apricot Frosty Petite Ballet Red Rooster Sonja's Selah Lenora Pearl Calico Cat Zinger Zinc Pink Batik Shenanigan Miss Nellie Peccadillo Soft Spoken Drum Solo Pink Bubbles Gypsy Wings Marmalade Skies Am I Blue Picayune	Paul Black Paul Black Keith Keppel Thomas Johnson Lynn Markham Paul Black Brad Kasperek Fred Kerr Larry Lauer Tom Magee Brad Kasperek Terry Aitken Dave Niswonger Keith Keppel Jack Durrance Allan Ensminger Hooker Nichols Carol Lankow Steve Stevens Allan Ensminger Allan Ensminger Keith Keppel Jimmy Burch Keith Keppel Jimmy Burch Keith Keppel Perry Dyer Hal Stahly Ben Hager Melba Hamblen Dave Niswonger Don Denney Keith Keppel	Elwood, UT North Highlands, CA Wilton, CA Littleton, CO Elwood, UT Vancouver, WA Cape Girardeau, MO Salem, OR Denver, CO Lincoln, NE Dallas, TX Kirkland, WA Crystal City, MO Lincoln, NE Lincoln, NE Salem, OR Huntsville, AL Salem, OR Blanchard, OK Grand Blanc, MI Stockton, CA Roy, UT Cape Girardeau, MO Hayward, CA Salem, OR
1982	Picayune	Keith Keppel	Salem, OR
1981	Whoop 'em Up	Dovie Brady	Dumont, TX

2			
4			
4			

1980	Brown Lasso DM 81	Gene Buckles by Dave Niswonger	Sikeston, MO Cape Girardeau, MO
1979	Stepping Little	Harry Kuesel	Littleton, CO
1978	Raspberry Sundae	Dave Niswonger	Cape Girardeau, MO
1977	Embroidery	Keith Keppel	Salem, OR
1976	Molten Glass	Jim Marsh	Chicago, IL
1975	Dresden Frills	Nate Rudolph	Aurora, IL
1974	Junior Prom	Joe Ghio	Santa Cruz, CA
1973	Bride's Pearls	Alta Brown	Kirkland, WA
1972	Lace Valentine	Bee Warburton	Westboro, MA
1971	Crystal Bay	Bennett Jones	Portland, OR
1970	Pebbles	Jim Tucker	Centralia, IL
1969	Blue Miller	Tom Brown	Milton-Freewater, OR
1968-M	Frenchi	Bennett Jones	Portland, OR
1967-M	Jungle Shadows	Sass, Henry	Omaha, NE
		by Helen Graham	El Dorado, KS
1966-M	Tulare	Melba Hamblen	Roy, UT
1965	Bayadere	Opal Brown	Milton-Freewater, OR
1964-A		Melba Hamblen	Roy, UT
1963	Fairy Jewels	Melba Hamblen	Roy, UT
1962-A	Jungle Shadows	Sass, Henry by Helen Graham	Omaha, NE El Dorado, KS
1961-A	Frenchi	Bennett Jones	Portland, OR
1960	Yellow Dresden	Margaret Albright	Salt Lake City, UT

The Median Iris Society sponsors the annual awarding of four medals by AIS to medians in each of the recognized classifications: SDB, IB, MTB, and BB. Note that most classifications within the AIS Awards System began with Award of Merit (AM) equivalent Awards, later elevated to Medal status. At this transition, previous Award winners from a specified period of time re-competed for the higher Medal honors. Thus there are some duplicate entries. They are designated with an "A" beside the date on which they won the AM-equivalent, and an "M" on Medal status. "T" designates a tie. Any year omitted is a year in which no award was made.